As top drug crime attorneys in Minnesota, we understand that situations aren’t always as simple as they seem. Our attorneys are committed to telling your side of the story and protecting your future to the best of our ability. Contact us online to schedule a consultation.
All crimes become more serious with the involvement of a minor, and drug crimes are already prosecuted aggressively in Minnesota. That means that if you’ve been charged with providing drugs to minors, you’re likely in a world of legal trouble.
If convicted, you could spend years in prison and pay hundreds of thousands of dollars in fines. This can be a shocking realization for a college student or anyone else who was charged with selling drugs to someone under the age of 18. They likely had no idea everything they were risking with such a small transaction.
If you or a loved one have been charged with selling drugs to a minor, your future is on the line. You could suffer life-altering consequences that never fully go away. That’s why it’s essential to partner with an experienced criminal defense attorney with a proven track record of wins. If you live in Central Minnesota, look no further than Toepfer at Law.
Keep reading to learn more about the penalties for providing drugs to minors and why you’ll want an aggressive criminal defense attorney to advocate for you.
Nothing is sadder than watching someone get sentenced to decades in prison for a non-violent drug offense. The right attorney may be able to help you avoid these life-ruining penalties. Give us a call at (320) 497-4416 to schedule a case evaluation today.
In Minnesota, controlled substances are categorized into five different schedules, according to dangerousness. Schedule I drugs are considered to have the highest potential for addiction and abuse, and Schedule V drugs the least. Providing drugs to minors is a felony offense, but the degree of felony will depend on the type of drug and amount involved.
Selling either a Schedule I or Schedule II controlled substance to a minor may be considered a second-degree felony in Minnesota. If you are convicted, you could end up serving up to 25 years in prison and paying up to $500,000 in fines.
Selling any Schedule I, II or III drug to a minor (with the exception of marijuana or a Schedule I or II narcotic) can result in a third-degree felony. Conviction may result in up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000. You can also be charged with a third-degree felony if you employed a minor in the sale of any Schedule I, II or III drugs.
Selling any Schedule IV or V drug to a minor can result in a fourth-degree felony charge. Conviction comes with the potential for 15 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines.
If you’ve been charged with a drug crime that isn’t specifically for selling to an underage person, selling to a minor may act as an aggravating factor in your sentencing. As each drug crime in Minnesota comes with a sentencing range, adding an aggravating factor serves to push your penalties to the upper, more severe end of the range.
You don’t have to actually sell drugs to a minor to be charged with doing so. If you are found in possession of a controlled substance and the police believe you intended to sell to minors, they can arrest you.
Minnesota has thousands of illicit drugs that it considers controlled substances. They are divided into five schedules, and the higher the drug is on the schedule, the harsher the penalties for selling to a minor. Here are some examples of drugs in each schedule:
Controlled substances include more than just illicit drugs. They also include chemical compounds and precursors that are heavily regulated by the government.
11 Seventh Ave N Suite 203
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56303